2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2009 8:08 AM by the_wine_snob

Premiere Pro CS3 Importing Issues

Future_Producer Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to Premiere, and I've been having issues with a project that I am trying to start. I am running Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 on Windows Vista. I want to import a file that was originally a .mkv file. Because Premiere does not use .mkv files, I simply changed the file extension to .avi. The file is about 1.42 GB. But whenever I try to import the file as a .avi, my program freezes and I get a (Not Responding) error on the dialog box at the top of the program. When this happens I am always forced to close the program. Am I experiencing this simply because the files I am attempting to import are too big? Or is it something else?

Also, if it is indeed because the files are too big, how can I get around this problem? I have tried using software such as VirtualDub and SolveigMM Video Splitter to cut the AVI files into smaller parts, but they do not seem to be working. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks a lot!

(By the way, I attached a JPEG file of a snapshot of what happens when I try to import into Premiere.)

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro CS3 Importing Issues
          Dan Isaacs Level 2

This is because you cannot simply rename a file's extension to "look like" a different format. An .mkv is as similar to an .avi as a goat is to an iguana. First, you may want to try something like this.

You can also try opening your MKV in VirtualDub (without renaming it ".avi"), which may work. I have read that recent releases of VirtualDub can handle (more or less) MKV files, but I have no experience with this myself. If this works, you can save it as an AVI from VirtualDub.