6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2009 11:03 PM by Mylenium

Render Ceases and NEVER completes??

iphonedevworks.com

Hello good people - here is a funky quirk I have - I goto render my main composition in AE CS4

- it begins - gets through usally more than a third of the comp

- it does not matter which comp - any comp - and just stops. I have yet to successfully complete a comp on this new machine and fresh

- 3rd install of the AE CS4. Does anyone have the slightest clue wy this is occurring?

I would really welcome any help on this as I am fairly new to CS4 and I'm really pulling my hair out.

Machine - Asus P5E3 Wifi Deluxe

8GB Tripple channel 1600

Vista OS 64bit Ulitmate

Intel Quad Core 9650

Nvidia GTX 285 Open Gl 2.0

Many thanks good people, Derek in Florida.

• 1. Re: Render Ceases and NEVER completes??
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

What are your render settings? Do you use OpenGL? Multiprocessing? Do you use disk caches? The rendering always stopping at the same point is a pretty clear indicator of some caches filling up or the system running out of storage memory for temporary data. also when rendering, use the Extra per Frame Info option for logging the process and twirl open the extended info on the Render Queue panel to see what's going on. also, to what drive do you render? Some network? A FAT-formatted external device? Both, network timeouts and the file size limit on FAT could also be a problem.

Mylenium

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Render Ceases and NEVER completes??
            iphonedevworks.com Level 1

Thank you for the reply - First, I am a noob - sorry - second - the drive I'm using is a WD Raptor 300gb 10k rpm.

- As for this... use the Extra per Frame Info option for logging the process and twirl open the extended info on the Render Queue panel to see what's going on. - ??

Is there some kind of setting I need to switch on or off?