4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2009 12:15 PM by rdziekan

Splitting files

rdziekan

I am very new to working with video files. I am trying to save my analog video to digital.

Please explain, very simply and without using jargon, such as "media bin", which are not found in the user's manual, how to do the following:

I have captured my analog files and converted them to digital files. These files are typically about 6 GB long. They are too large to fit on standard DVD's. I would like to split the file at an appropriate point and save the two sections to two DVD's. I can then discard the original video tapes and at some future time edit the DVD's.

Although this seems very easy to do I have been struggling. Please list the steps I need to follow. Thank you for helping me with this.

• 1. Re: Splitting files
          Paul_LS Level 4

Firstly what hardware and software did you use to capture your videos and in what format have you captured your video files? DV-AVI files captured over Firewire are typically 13GB per hour... this will be compressed down to around 4.7GB when burnt to a DVD. The DV-AVI is transcoded to MPEG2/VOB files on the DVD. However you may be starting with MPEG2 files... these are already compressed. Dependant on the ultimate quality you require you could fit a 6GB MPEG2 file on to a standard 4.7GB DVD by slightly reducing the bit rate.

• 2. Re: Splitting files
            rdziekan Level 1

Thanks for your reply.

They are mpg files. I just want to split and save each file to DVD

• 3. Re: Splitting files
              Paul_LS Level 4