8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2009 1:35 AM by Paul_LS

Reduced Image Quality

kaner_88

Hi guys, I'm relatively new to PE7 and I'm trying to put together a slide show for a wedding.  While I have imported most of the pics into scene/timeline, it seems that the quality of the pics have noticeably gone down.  I don't remember what resolution the pics were when they were taken, but when I view the pics on their own (not in PE7), they are crisp and clear when opened fully.  But while playing back my rendered workspace there is a noticeable amount of pixelization in the photos.  Its as if the resolution has gone down after importing into PE7.  The pics are jpeg's.  Is there a format which I should change these to in order to correct this issue?  Or is there a setting I can use that would help?  Thanks for any help in advance!

Eric

• 1. Re: Reduced Image Quality
          the_wine_snob Level 9

First, the quality of the image will benefit if all re-sizing is done outside of PE. Use either Photoshop, or PSElements for this. Cannot speak for PSE, but in PS, the resizing algorithms are better than in Premiere. For DVD output, you sizes should be no larger than 1000x750 pxls. If you do not need to do any panning on zoomed out images, I'd even go with the Project's Preset.

Depending on the native format of the images, I'd try to stay away from any JPEG compression. If you have TIFF's to begin with, then keep them TIFF's. If you have some flavor of RAW, then I'd go with .PSD, Photoshop's native format. If you start with JPEG's, then I'd resize in PS/PSE and use .PSD's. About the last thing that you would want to do would be to Import a JPEG, resize and then Export as JPEG - double-whammy!

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Reduced Image Quality
            the_wine_snob Level 9

As an aside on viewing for quality, set your Program Monitor to 100%, in lieu of "Fit." The preview will be better that way.

Hunt

• 3. Re: Reduced Image Quality