6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2009 11:15 AM by Doyle Lonnigan

All My Windows Media Exports Stink - What's My Problem?

Doyle Lonnigan Level 1

I've been asked to convert a video file we're working on into a Windows Media format which will be posted on our intranet site via a streaming server.  This video was produced for DVD (which looks great) and has been exported as an MPG with good results.  The source file is 720 x 480, but I'm trying to output at 360 x 240.  No matter what settings I choose, the Windows Media files I've been producing look terrible.  Very pixelated with artifacts everywhere, especially where there's a lot of motion.

I'm not an expert in digital video and generally find the settings in the output module somewhat cryptic, but I usually end up with something decent by experimentation.  I've been making movies all day, pumping out 30 second test clips, but so far I haven't been able to produce anything that I'd call acceptable by my standards.  I've tried different bit rates, rendering at half size versus stretching, turning video noise correction on and off, using different Windows Media Video codecs,  turning up the image quality - no combination seems to work.

Is Windows Media Video simply a crappy looking format, or am I just not getting it?  Can anyone tell me which of these settings is key and what kind of parameters I should be dialing up?  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

B

• 1. Re: All My Windows Media Exports Stink - What's My Problem?
          Doyle Lonnigan Level 1

Egad.  36 views and not a peep out of anyone!  That's not a good sign ...

• 2. Re: All My Windows Media Exports Stink - What's My Problem?
            TimeRemapper Level 4

Due to the way compression works, AE is not the best tool from which to create an optimally compressed file.