6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2013 7:13 AM by Kamelito-78

Loading LARGE Bitmaps in Flex

BritBoyInUSA

I am an absolute Newbie to Flex. However, it seems an almost perfect platform for some projects that I would like to build. From my initial experimentation it seems to satisfy 99% of my needs, with may be one exception.

I need to upload a local image file, which may be up to 8000 x 8000 pixels.

I have seen postings regarding ActionScript workarounds for Flash 9 which had a limit of 2880 x 2880.

=======================================================================

// 1. Create an image loader and
      var DummyImageLoader:Loader = new Loader;

// 2. Assign a function to “kidnap” the BitmapData object
      DummyImageLoader.contentLoaderInfo.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, DummyImageOnComplete);

// 3. Load the image with the preferred dimension
      var DummyImageRequest:URLRequest = new URLRequest(“dummy_image.jpg);
      DummyImageLoader.load(DummyImageRequest);

function DummyImageOnComplete(evt:Event):void {
           var DummyImageBitmap = Bitmap(DummyImageLoader.content);
           // “kidnap” the BitmapData object
          var ValidBitmapData:BitmapData = DummyImageBitmap.bitmapData;

// you can now use ValidBitmapData to draw any element larger than 2880×2880
      }

var InvalidBitmapData:BitmapData = new BitmapData(8000, 8000);

======================================================================

I'm using Flex 3, SDK 3.3, and Flash 10.0.22, but have NOT been able to adapt this code to something that allows 8000 x 8000 pixel images to be loaded.

FYI : I never need to display the entire image, only compressed (Thumbnail) versions.

Please can someone post the exact code that does allow 'oversized' images to be loaded ? If this can be provided as a mxml file, then copious amounts of beer/liquor would be made available to the supplier, when they visit Florida

Any help appreciated, Thanks, Steve.

• 1. Re: Loading LARGE Bitmaps in Flex