4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2009 7:03 AM by the_wine_snob

A first step: Editing video clips before using them in a longer video?

Stephen 9

I am an absolute beginner.  I have purchased Premiere Elements 7 and I bought the Premiere Bible and am reading that.

My question is, Premiere seems to be software designed primarily to help you make a video production by joining together video clips, sound clips, and photos.  Is there a step before this, though, namely editing the clips as they come out of your camera?

I've been using PhotoShop for years, and typically when I take a still photo I open it in PhotoShop and adjust saturation, brightness, sharpness, maybe white balance, rotate if needed, etc.

Is there another piece of software designed to help do this kind of basic editing to a single video clip?  For example, if the clip came out too dark, is there a way to brighten things up?

I'd really appreciate any answers, and if there is a book or article you could suggest about editing video clips I would appreciate the recommendation!

• 1. Re: A first step: Editing video clips before using them in a longer video?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Stephen,

First, welcome to the forum.

Next, and this does depend on your camera, you Capture your video from the camera, using a Preset for your Project, that matches the material from your camera.

Now comes the "RAW conversion," though I am using that term VERY loosely. Many people will do basically a pre-edit, by Dbl-clicking the Captured Video in the Project Panel. This opens it in the Source Monitor, where one sets  the In and Out Points, basically doing a loose edit of the scenes. The Clip in the Source Monitor can then be dragged to the Timeline. Each is done this way, until they all appear, in the order that you want, on the Timeline. Note: you can drag from the Project Panel, and do this in the Timeline too. Also note: when you play the Timeline, you are now looking at the Program Monitor.