13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2009 6:55 PM by Ned Murphy

Need help changing website template text buttons!

ChicwithBrains Level 1

I just started using Adobe Flash CS4.  I am a newbie and do not have flash experience other than teaching myself how to do it.  Problem.  I have a website template that allows full customization and has 4 flashing text buttons on the header.  Everything has been working flawlessly until this....When I go to change the text for any one of the text buttons it changes the text in all of the other text buttons regardless of what I do.  Can someone walk me thru how to change it so that I can put different text for each text button?  ChickwithBrains is about to go POSTAL.

• 1. Re: Need help changing website template text buttons!
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Do all the buttons show that same changed text when you play the file?

• 2. Re: Need help changing website template text buttons!
            ChicwithBrains Level 1

No it doesn't.  It shows the template text in the last three buttons when played.

• 3. Re: Need help changing website template text buttons!

Does that mean they all show different text from each other when you play it, even though they all show the same text when it is not playing?

• 4. Re: Need help changing website template text buttons!
                ChicwithBrains Level 1

Yes Ned, that is exactly what it means.  Can you help me out???

• 5. Re: Need help changing website template text buttons!

I'm trying to, but I have to have an idea of what the situation is first.  From your answers it sounds like the text in the buttons is assigned via actionscript.  So you will need to try to find that code.  Code will normally be found in a timeline layer dedicated to code... in frames that have a small "a" in them.  The code itself is viewed in the Actions panel (Window -> Actions)