13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2008 4:32 PM by Newsgroup_User

Can I turn Frontpage webs into Dreamweaver ones?

60251977 Level 1
      Hi all

I've been designing a web on Frontpage 2002, but that program, although OKAY, is pretty lame. Is it at all possible to use the html from my Frontpage site, paste it into Dreamweaver (at which I am also a novice) and do fancy stuff with it using CSS? Are there any tutorials for this sort of thing?
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: Can I turn Frontpage webs into Dreamweaver ones?
          Level 7
          Before doing anything else, take a couple of weeks to gothrough the DW
          tutorials, and also to study HTML and CSS. The more you know about those,
          the easier your transition will be. DW expects alot more from you than FP
          did, and as a result, you may find it much more frustrating to have the raw
          reality of web development staring you in the face rather than the wizards
          of FP.

> Is there a way to convert a Frontpage site into a
          > Dreamweaver site

1. I'd define a Dreamweaver site that points to a location on your hard
          drive for the local site's root, and to the current FP site on the web as
          the remote site
          2. I'd use Dreamweaver (if your host supports FTP connections) to download
          the remote site to the root of the site you just defined on the hard drive.
          This will pick up all the pages *after* webbot action so that shared borders
          and all are already present in the page HTML. This will also pick up all of
          the server scripting. Note - in the event that you are not able to connect
          using FTP since some FP hosts block that protocol, you will have to use a
          third party 'site copier' like Black Widow, QuadSucker, or WebCopier, (or
          even the DW extension called SiteAssist from WebAssist) to connect and