4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2009 7:59 AM by tedalde2

projector vs. air desktop

rechtut

someone please correct me if this is pure ignorance:

for years i preffered when given a choice to use director rather then flash projector for developing desktop apps.

my primary reason always was that flash was very timid about taking up cpu and/or ram. it used to limit itself when it came to resources and as a result the perfomance suffered.

all this is going back to flash 5/6/7

IS THIS STILL THE CASE?

and

IS there a performance advantage in packaging an app as air as opposing to as an exe projector?

• 1. Re: projector vs. air desktop
          allnicksalreadytaken

i'm no expert but i don't think there is a real performance difference between air and projector since (correct me if i'm wrong) they both use basically the same flash player to render their (flash based) content.

The difference lies mostly in the capabilities of air.

The AIR api provides alot more functionality than available to standard flash player (sqllite database, system drag'n'drop, native html rendering capabilities just to name some of them).

If you compare flash 7 which used as2 to flash 10 nowadays there is a great performance increase due to as3 and hardware accelerated rendering.

Check some benchmarks from the web.

I Hope i could help a bit

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: projector vs. air desktop
            tedalde2 Level 2