6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2009 5:30 PM by PopaTim

Lots of PRE issues!

kkegg

Hi!

I have been working with pre for almost three months, and am continually receiving a number of issues while working with the software. The footage I work with can be anywhere from 15m to 6H in length.

I currently run:

AMD Athlon™ Dual Core Processor 4050e

2 GB RAM

256 ATI Radeon x1300Pro

Vista

I also have two internal storage drives one full at 74 GB and one almost half full at 1TB

Before I start a project I defrag all of my relevant drives. And I always set the cache and scratch discs to achieve optimal performance.

The footage is from a Canon HG20

These are my problems:

·         I have consistently gotten “registry errors” or “low virtual memory” errors while I’m working. When the registry errors occur pre shuts down. When I get low virtual memory errors I promptly up my virtual memory and sometimes I’m fine sometimes I’m not and pre shuts down.

·         Exporting issues when burning to DVD; either from a previously exported avi file of the same project (as recommended in the manual when problems arise), or sometimes just straight to DVD export. There are areas where pixels on the DVD’s footage that just go corrupt, as in black pixel sections will just appear on the DVD’s disc menu that’s been exported but they aren’t present in the file. Or I have a clip of footage that when I play through the timeline like normal the clip is fine. But once it was exported the video disappeared completely

·         Rendering and exporting take forever! One file that was six hours long took about 15 days to render fully and another 2-3 days to export, and I used minimal effects. However some of my smaller files have issues as well. It recently took me a full 24 hrs to render 1 hr of footage with minimal effects.