11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 19, 2008 6:25 AM by Newsgroup_User

Ethics problem

Dana Sutton
      Copy of what I just posted on the Mac Rumors forum (there are a LOT of other postings to the same effect): I can't speak about the other products in the CS line, but I've been using the Dreamweaver CS4 beta for a couple of months, and I have to agree that it only can described as a maintenance upgrade. What bothers me is Adobe's severe ethics problem. CS3 is very buggy, CS4 does manage to squash some (although not all) of these. So it lookslike Adobe has been aware of these problems and has (after eighteen months) taken steps to fix them. As an end user, I assume that the cost of maintenance upgrades is rolled into the purchase price of the software I purchase, so that I have a right to expect the manufacturer to exercise "due diligence" in squashing bugs promptly with one or more maintenance upgrades. But Adobe has never -- repeat, never -- issued any maintenance upgrade for Dreamweaver CS3, essentially they are using the addition of a small number of features of questionable value as a pretext for charging a hefty sum of money for an incredibly belated one. I hope their customer base can collectively let them know that this is an unacceptable business practice.
        • 1. Re: Ethics problem
          Level 7
          OK... as of now, at the end of the thread...

So, some basic questions:

Did you find that Macromedia addressed bugs better and faster in a dot
          release?

Or is it that Adobe is not addressing the issues?

The reason i ask is, partly the fact, that there are a lot of complaints on
          the Illustrator forum, as well, that have not been addressed by a bug fix.

As Dana maintains, if a paid-for software is buggy then the seller is duty
          bound to fix the bugs and not address them in a paid for-upgrade. Feature
          requests and new features are a different issue. We're talking just bugs.