2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2009 3:38 PM by jfraze

Help! Total newbie question...

Raven1155

I want to make a flash form where the viewer/user can watch a video clip of their choice (from a drop-down control or something else if there's a better way).

I've found myself totally unable to find our how to do this.  I mean, frankly, I don't even know what kind of file to start from the "New..." form at the beginning of Flash (CS 3.0, btw)!

I know how to create a Flash Player and link it to a single video.  What I envision is that after the page comes up, with a single player component (initially empty), the user chooses a video from the drop-down list and that video starts playing in the player.

I guess I have these questions-

1. What kind of file should I be starting with?  {I kinda assume I'll be making an SWF to put on a web page.}
      2. Where on earth do I learn how to get the simplest things (e.g., button clicks, etc.) to work?
      3. Could any of y'all please offer suggestions where I could find a sample of something similar?  -OR-
      4. Could any of y'all give me an example of how to do (code?) this?!?!

I apologize for such dumb questions, but while I'm quite experienced with Premiere, Encore, Photoshop, etc., I am definitely NOT used to Flash!

Thanks in advance!

Jim 8^)

• 1. Re: Help! Total newbie question...
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

start with the flash help files and use as2 unless you need or want to use as3.

check learning as2 in adobe flash.

• 2. Re: Help! Total newbie question...
            jfraze Level 1

This is going to be a pretty big learning curve for someone with no Flash experience. But, sometimes the best way to learn is to just dive in and start the project.