11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2009 8:19 PM by TCarp

Beginner ?: process for print and web destined logo

TCarp Level 1

I could benefit from some wisdom on the workflow to use for output destined for both display and print, specifically a logo.  I have CS2 and Macromedia Studio 8.

The logo I built (for a local group) was done in FW and then saved as a gif for use in DW for our site.  Recently I started learning IL and ID and would like to learn a "happy path" with those applications "available" to redo the logo.  This time the intended output is both display and print and in multiple scales.

If my path would be even easier and higher quality, I'd be willing to add Acrobat to the applications list.  To date I've only used Acrobat for simple document conversion.

The logo graphics are almost entirely vector with a couple small silhouettes in the form of gifs.  The gifs are from the net so I'm assuming their display ppi.  (Specfically, they are all black silhouettes of a salmon and a horse.)  The logo gif is attached.

Starting there, I assume the path will have all the vector stuff done in IL.  From earlier help from the IL Forum I've learned to build the vector as close the the final scale as possible and/or favor scaling down over scaling up.

The silhouettes appear to be another matter.  I see I can integrate vector and rastor in IL, but what things do you do to scale for print or display output?  Since I'm assuming rastor doesn't scale like vector, it appears the path is limited by the "density" of the original image(?).

Thanks

Tom

• 1. Re: Beginner ?: process for print and web destined logo
          [scott] Level 6

Can't see your queue'd file.. but you do realize that taking images off the web for use in a logo is copyright infringement, right? You and/or the company will be liable for any claims.

• 2. Re: Beginner ?: process for print and web destined logo
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant