6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2009 1:46 AM by MrFredHale

[JS] IDCS3 – Beginner having problems with dataMerge

MrFredHale

I'm a designer trying to get to grips with writing a data merge script, but am struggling with data merge placeholders, and how they relate to text fields. I've looked around for tutorials etc relating to scripting the data merge function but have not been able to find much information. I'd be grateful if anyone could point out where I'm going wrong. The script returns an "Object is Invalid" error on the highlighted line.

Below is the section of the script relating to the text fields. I am sorry for its inelegance; I am very much in the early stages of learning both JavaScript and scripting InDesign. Many thanks.

// insert entry text frame
      var myEntry = myDocument.pages.item(0).textFrames.add();
      myEntry.label = "Entry";
          with (myEntry) {
              geometricBounds = ["9mm", "100mm", "139mm", "5mm"];
              fillColor = "Black75";
              textFramePreferences.verticalJustification = 1667591796;
              textFramePreferences.insetSpacing = "5mm";
      }
      // myEntry.paragraphs.item(0).applyParagraphStyle(myParagraphStyleEntry, true);

var myEntryStory = myEntry.parentStory;
      var myStoryOffset = myEntry.lines.item(0).insertionPoints.item(0).index;
      var myDataMergeProperties= myDocument.dataMergeProperties;
      var myEntryPlaceholder = myDocument.dataMergeTextPlaceholders.add(myEntryStory, myDataMergeProperties.dataMergeFields.item(0));

// insert date/time text frame
      var myDateTime = myDocument.pages.item(0).textFrames.add();
      myDateTime.label = "Date & Time Field";
          with (myDateTime) {
              geometricBounds = ["4mm", "100mm", "6mm", "70mm"];
              contents = "00:00 00.00.00";   
      }
      myDateTime.paragraphs.item(0).applyParagraphStyle(myParagraphStyleHeaderRight, true);

var myDateTimeStory = myDateTime.parentStory;