5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2009 3:16 AM by Alex Uhlmann

Dispatching an event from a command

stevoad Level 1

Hi,

In one for my commands in the Cairngorm based application I'm working on I need to dispatch a event to amend the view. In my command I'm amending some value objects in a ArrayCollection, which is the data source for a List component in my view. Once I completed my changes to these value objects I'd like to dispatch a event to resort the ArrayCollection and update my view to the new order.

What is the best approach for dispatching an event in the command?

Thanks

Stephen

• 1. Re: Dispatching an event from a command
          AlucinariOlim Level 1

Great question - I'm currently sorting out how to do this myself.  I'm new to Cairngorm but have a decent amount of experience with Flex.  Here are my thoughts:

Cairngorm promotes decoupling of the data model and front controller/commands from the view - which is appropriate for an MVC framework. Data binding supports this seperation (to an extent) and keeps the view up to date with the model in 'real time'.  Data binding does not however provide an intuitive mechanism for reacting to cairngorm event results.  So here a few solutions I've been tossing around:

1.  Rely on Built in Flex events such as the datagrid's dataChange event to trigger a reaction.

2.  Create view state variables in the model that, when changed through the front controller / commands, dispatch custom events from within their VO's / setters / ect.

3.  Dispatch custom events directly from front controller / commands.

4.  Create custom (or override existing) item renderers that self-transition / tween when changed as a result of data binding.