16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2009 8:20 AM by Harm Millaard

MPEG-4 files

ParkBenchPictures Level 1

Hello,

Now, i'm not sure if this is really a CS4 question, but it deals with CS4 and video files.

I have a Sony PWM-EX1 camera that records to an SxS card. I had trouble with the old software at first (I'm working on a new MacBook Pro) but then got the right and up-to-date software installed. So I grabbed the video files off of my SxS card and put them on to my external HD. It has a file that is named BPAV, then under it is CLPR and in that folder are the video files that are saved under a Quicktime MPEG-4 Movie file. BUT, when I went to preview the file is said "The movie contains some invalid data". It also says something to the same effect when I try to open it in Premier Pro to preview it. So, I am wondering if there is another software driver I need to install to be able to view these files and work on them, or is it some user error. (I'm new to this stuff, but I'm pretty sure I've done everything correctly).

Any help would be awesome.

Thanks,

ParkBenchP

• 1. Re: MPEG-4 files
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Just import the BPAV folder, disregard the warnings you get and edit away.

• 2. Re: MPEG-4 files

ok, I gave it a shot. I double clicked it open it and it said "the importer reported a generic error" and would put the file into my source files. It would just stay in the Media Browser. if i can just ignore the error, how do i get the file into my source files.?

• 3. Re: MPEG-4 files
              Harm Millaard Level 7

30-06-2009 17-05-53.png

Select import folder.

30-06-2009 17-06-26.png

Press OK to disregard the error message.

30-06-2009 17-06-48.png

There in the project window you have the BPAV files ready for editing.

• 4. Re: MPEG-4 files