5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2009 5:56 PM by kglad

Timeline Best Practices?

Theeal123

I am fairly new to flash and I have been trying to make a product demo. Basically I want some text to fade in and then some pictures to show up one by one and then disappear and then some new text fades in etc. This is to talk about a product and show various parts of it as the text on the screen is discussing those parts of the product.

My question is what the preferred way of doing this is. Here are the options I can think of.

Approach 1) Put all animation in the main timeline. All text tweens take place on frames in the main timeline.

Approach 2) Put the text fade-in tweens in a movie clip and put that on the main timeline.

I have tried both these approaches but neither one has been working for me for the following reason.

Approach 1) Makes timeline very long and unwieldy. If one thing changes, it shifts everything over and messes up my whole timeline. Hard to manage.

Approach 2) If I have a stop(); on the main timeline, my animation stops in mid fade. In cases where I don't have a stop, I can't figure out how to do a series of objects fading in one after another. Is there a way to check if a movieclip has finished and only go to the next frame if it has finished? How do I get a series of clips to play one after another when I am running them as seperate movieclips off the main timeline.

Thanks in advance for your help. This newbie has already spent hours working on this and greatly appreciates your help.

• 1. Re: Timeline Best Practices?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP