6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2009 6:50 PM by Colin Brougham

Map audio channels of items in sequence?

xleggs Level 1

I'm fairly new to Premiere CS4 (FCP guy). I have rough cut a piece with interviews recorded on ch.1 and b-roll. I've used Fill Left which works, but I was hoping to use Map Audio Channels to avoid chasing filters all over the place.

I found that I could remap the channels of items that were not yet edited into a sequence, yet, when I opened clips that were edited into my sequence, the controls to change mapping were grayed out.

Is there a way to do this?

• 1. Re: Map audio channels of items in sequence?
          Colin Brougham Level 6

Unfortunately, no, it has to be done before a clip is used. And it makes sense, really, because once you reference that clip in a sequence, you're effectively using its media as it was recorded. If you were able to change the channel mappings after the clip was used, the clip reference in the timeline would be pointing to (for all practical purposes) different media.

You could duplicate all of your source clips in the bin, then change the mappings, and then you'd have to replace each individual clip in your sequence. Tedious, but it would work.

Another, easier option would be to apply your Fill Left (or Right, whichever you need) to an entire track in the Audio Mixer, instead of individual clips. This makes filter management much easier and faster. Just open up the audio mixer, swivel down the effects bank, and click in the dropdown to add your Fill filter to your track.

• 2. Re: Map audio channels of items in sequence?
            xleggs Level 1

Thanks- I'm glad that the issue was reproducable- and it sure is great to get such fast responses here. This board is great.