3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2009 9:48 AM by RoboColum(n)

Upgrade Considerations RoboHelp 5 to RH8

ZithRob

I've been assigned to upgrade our RoboHelp environment.  I've no direct knowledge of the product.  We have a single Client and a single Server.  The server is running on a server that houses our mission critical MS-SQL environment.

The existing environment is a help system consisting of 320 HTML files used for help on our SQL based application.

Prior to upgrading, we will of course backup the existing systems.  Beyond that, what is the upgrade process, and what traps or potential problems might we be facing.

Any appropriate input would be most appreciated.

• 1. Re: Upgrade Considerations RoboHelp 5 to RH8
          RoboColum(n) Level 5

Hi ZithRob and welcome to the RH community.

Upgrading to RH8 is dead easy. All you need to do is open your RH projects in RH8. Make sure you do take backups of the source files as well as the output as when you open your project in RH8 the source code is upgraded and there is no going back. At least if you have a copy of the source you can recover.

As far as what to look out for, the only proper advice I can give you is to download the trial version, take the backups, fire up the application and test it out.

One other question I have is what you mean by "RoboHelp environment" and "server" in your post. If you referring to the RoboHelp Server application as well as the RoboHelp (client) you should be aware that RoboHelp Server 8 has been completely rewritten. A full review of it can be found here.

Read the RoboColum(n) for mutterings on RoboHelp, Technical Communication Suite and technical communication.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Upgrade Considerations RoboHelp 5 to RH8
            ZithRob Level 1

Thanks for the response - a few more questions: