23 Replies Latest reply on Jul 3, 2009 3:29 AM by Peter Kahrel

Coming to grips with Footnotes

Dave Saunders Level 4

I'm charged with writing a script to draw vertical lines next to marked paragraphs. The question arises, what if one of those paragraphs is a footnote? And further, what it said footnote overflows from one frame to another?

So, I'm doing my usual thing and going back to first principles and trying things out. I'm also studying the relevant parts of the OMV. Already, I seem to have found an inconsistency. It has to do with the parent property of a footnote. The OMV says that the parent can be one of: XmlStory, Story, TextFrame or InsertionPoint.

This of course requires some interpretation because the OMV lists as a possible parent any object that can own a collection of the subject objects. This explains why InsertionPoint is on the list. But a quick test leaves me wondering why all text objects aren't on the list. I created a text frame in a new document and labeled it "MainStory". I put a couple of footnotes into the fourth paragraph and ran this:

var myStory = app.documents[0].textFrames.item("MainStory").parentStory;
      var myPara = myStory.paragraphs[3];
      $.writeln(myStory.footnotes.length);
      $.writeln(myPara.footnotes.length);

Based on the OMV, I was expecting to get 2 in the JS console and then an error. But instead, I got 2 twice in the console and no error. A quick look at Paragraph objects confirms that they can indeed own footnote collections.

This will be one of those topics where I talk to myself. ...

• 1. Re: Coming to grips with Footnotes
          Dave Saunders Level 4

Now that I've discovered that any text item can own footnotes, it means I can address the same footnote in more than one way. So, let's try that and see what the parent is in each case:

$.writeln(myStory.footnotes[0].parent.constructor.name);
          $.writeln(myPara.footnotes[0].parent.constructor.name);