10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2008 2:06 PM by Newsgroup_User

Using slice to help protect downloads of copyrighted photographs

ssmcintire
      I am a photographer and read the following tip online as one way to prevent thieves from downloading your copyrighted photos.Here's what I read: "You can use Adobe Fireworks for slicing the images into several parts. The same software is capable of generating the appropriate html code to re-assemble the image parts on the webpage. You can copy the generated html <table> code (without the <html> or <body> tags) into your webpage.

In this case, with the visitor right-click-saves, he is able to save only the sliced part of the image where he clicked. In order to obtain the complete image, he has to download all parts and then re-assemble the parts like a jigsaw puzzle in his webpage or a photo editing software."

Since I really want to use my .mac site which is very user friendly and I don't know how to create my own web pages from scratch or spend the time doing so (I'd rather be taking photos), I want to be able to copy and paste html for the photo to my .mac site so that it will be sliced. I hope this will work but am not sure exactly how to go about it. I'd appreciate any help or tips.

I really didn't understand the part about "You can copy the generated html <table> code (without the <html> or <body> tags) into your webpage." Thanks so much.
        • 1. Re: Using slice to help protect downloads of copyrighted photographs
          Level 7
          It's pluperfect claptrap.

http://continue.to/hope

--
          Murray --- ICQ 71997575
          Adobe Community Expert
          (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
          ==================
          http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
          http://www.dwfaq.com - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
          ==================

"ssmcintire" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message