11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2009 8:41 AM by the_wine_snob

Unable to import ANYTHING - help troubleshooting?

BirdBrainBubba

I recently installed Premiere Pro CS4 as part of the Adobe CS4 Master Collection.  I'm new to this version of Premiere, but I've used older versions (on a different PC).

Problem: I can't seem to import ANYTHING - any video or any JPG file.  Every time I attempt to import any file (so far), I get the following error message:

File Import Failure

(path to the file)

Error Message:

File video dimensions (width/height) too large

Configuration:

Premiere Pro CS4.1.0

Windows Vista 32-bit Home Premium SP1

Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz, 3 gigs RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT (video driver 7.15.11.8250, which appears to be the latest)

This PC has generally been quite trouble-free, never had any other issues with other software I've used (not that I have any other video editing software on it)

As I said, I'm fairly new to this complex program, and I know there are a thousand things that have to all be working together. While I have used older versions of Premiere on another PC (I have Premiere Pro 2.0 running on a PC running Windows XP), I've probably only used the most basic functions of the program, and don't know it well. Right now, all I'm trying to do is import a few items to play with, so I can explore the program's features. So I'm not working on some critical project, I can't get to square one - nothing I've tried will import, which makes it pretty hard to make much progress.

I've tried importing short, simple .AVI files, QuickTime .MOV files, and JPG stills.  All small and short (that's what I've got handy). I can't figure out if I'm just doing something wrong (have I got the project settings all screwed up and it's telling the the truth that the files are "too large") or, is something in Premiere really busted?