31 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2008 2:01 AM by TheFOX

Cannot connect to MySQL database

TheFOX
      Hi

I'm new to flex builder 3... and have therefore looked at lynda.com to learn about the product and get started fast. And here they show you how to create a connection to a MySQL database using MAMP on a mac (or WAMP on the PC) - I'm on the mac ;-).

I have installed the MAMP server with both MySQL, Apache and PHP running on defalt ports. And I have created a simple database in MySQL... The site is running fine and so is the MySQL (I have tested with simple HTML etc)... but when I try to connect to the database using the wizard in Flex, I get the following message:

Unable to connect to the database....

If I look at the details it say (hold on):
      com.mysql.jdbc.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure due to underlying exception:

** BEGIN NESTED EXCEPTION **

java.net.SocketException

STACKTRACE:

java.net.SocketException: java.net.NoRouteToHostException: No route to host
      at com.mysql.jdbc.StandardSocketFactory.connect(StandardSocketFactory.java:156)
      at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.<init>(MysqlIO.java:284)
      at com.mysql.jdbc.Connection.createNewIO(Connection.java:2555)
      at com.mysql.jdbc.Connection.<init>(Connection.java:1485)
      at com.mysql.jdbc.NonRegisteringDriver.connect(NonRegisteringDriver.java:266)
      at org.eclipse.datatools.connectivity.db.generic.JDBCConnection.createConnection(JDBCConnect ion.java:87)
      at org.eclipse.datatools.connectivity.DriverConnectionBase.internalCreateConnection(DriverCo nnectionBase.java:104)
      at org.eclipse.datatools.connectivity.DriverConnectionBase.open(DriverConnectionBase.java:53 )
      at org.eclipse.datatools.connectivity.db.generic.JDBCConnectionFactory.createConnection(JDBC ConnectionFactory.java:52)
      at org.eclipse.datatools.connectivity.internal.ConnectionFactoryProvider.createConnection(Co nnectionFactoryProvider.java:77)