5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2009 7:04 AM by mr. modus

Get comboBox value on a button click.

mr. modus Level 1

I'm sure this is easy as pie but I'm a noob and am having a heck of a time.

I have a datagrid populated from an xml doc. For each row in the datagrid I have a comboBox with ID=Quantity and a button which will run a function for checkout. The user chooses their quantity from the comboBox and hits the buy button. What I'm trying to do is read the chosen quantity from the comboBox and then change the url accordingly. However I have no idea how to get the value from the comboBox since it's not the comboBox supplying the event.

Here's my datagrid:

<mx:DataGrid id="invGrid" dataProvider="{invXML}">

<mx:columns>

<mx:DataGridColumn headerText="Quantity" itemRenderer="renderers.rend_Quantity"/>

<mx:DataGridColumn dataField="ActualPrice" headerText="Our Price"/>

<mx:DataGridColumn itemRenderer="renderers.rend_BuyButton"/>

</mx:columns>

</mx:DataGrid>

Here's the guts of my Quantity renderer:

<mx:ComboBox

id="Quantity" dataProvider="{data.ValidSplits.int}"/>

Here's the guts of my Buy button renderer:

<mx:Button

xmlns:mx="http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" id="Buy" label="BUY" click="parentDocument.buyItem()"/>

This is my function.

// function to go to checkout

public function buyItem():void{

var s:String = "view=cart;id=" + invGrid.selectedItem.ID + ";quantity=" + Quantity.selectedItem;

browserManager.setFragment(s); // set the url fragment

}

}

}

I get an error when using Quantity.selectedItem, which I expected since there are multiple comboBoxes with Quantity as the ID. I've tried

Quantity[invGrid.selectedIndex].selectedItem but get an error as well.

How do I target this comboBox? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Michael

• 1. Re: Get comboBox value on a button click.
          leybniz Level 4

your Quantity ComboBox is external component, that's why you cannot access it via given id='Quantity'