2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2009 11:36 AM by EWN-CMI

Flex/FMS Remote Shared Objects Design Question

EWN-CMI Level 1

I am new to all this but am looking forward to understanding it better.  I would like to stream live audio and video and use 4 or 5 Remote Shared Objects in a hub design where the publisher is the center of the hub and clients on the spokes.  The publisher can push data changes to the client, such as changing the bio of the current speaker on the live stream from a database.  I am considering Flex for building the app.  I am having a little trouble visualizing how it all will work.  I don't have any problem building the client and can probably figure out how to bind the RSO's, but really don't understand the "publisher"/manager portion.  The GUI will be different, it should see all the clients connected, see the RSO that they can update, know who updated it, push data to the clients from a database, etc.  I am assuming that the manager would also be a Flex app and somehow connect and bind with the same RSO's but I could be diverting back to client/server stuff.  If someone can point me in the right direction I would be most appreciative.

I envision all clients and the publisher/manager to have access to the same RSO, all the remaining non-live content on the client would be pushed from the publisher/manager.  Maybe even a chat from publisher and each client but not between clients.

Thanks in advance.  All comments and assistance in the best practices in general are also requested and welcomed.

• 1. Re: Flex/FMS Remote Shared Objects Design Question
          cemef Level 1

All the things you want to do are typical Shared Object's functionalities. I've already created a couple of huge projects myself using Shared Objects functionalities, so I can say with the full responsibility that all the things you want to do can be done very easily using those classes.