5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2009 6:14 PM by the_wine_snob

Need Suggestions On Organising A Music Video

Suntower Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to this, coming from the audio multi-track world. For my first 'real' video I'm trying to do a music video. Over the years, everyone with a DAW develops a methodology for organising the large number of 'clips'. At first I thought the metaphor between a DAW and PP was similar, but unfortunately it ain't. In every DAW you can easily 'solo' any track (or any clip) as you work. Also, there isn't the 'precedence' that PP has where the highest # track is visible but everything else is not. So you kind of have to plan ahead in a different way when deciding what's going to be visible and where.

I started with the idea of having each track be like a DAW song---each would be one continuous take. I'd simply 'enable/disable' as I went, creating sub-clips from each main take. But as the video gets more complicated, this is impossible to work with. You need to be able to move clips up/down the heirarchy all the time to give them the proper 'precedence' (what's on top of what).

And then there's the naming issue. I failed to pre-name each of my MPGs when I began so they all have helpful names (not!) like 2009061503221.MPG which doesn't help determining what's what in the sequence monitor.

Sorry for the long-windedness. What I want are some suggestions on how more experienced people pre-organize (or tidy up as they go) to edit such a project. How do you name things? Keep track of precedence? Easily manage large #s of clips? Etc. Etc. Etc.

Tips? Traps? Suggested Tutorials?

TIA!

---JC

• 1. Re: Need Suggestions On Organising A Music Video
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          And then there's the naming issue. I failed to pre-name each of my MPGs when I began so they all have helpful names (not!) like 2009061503221.MPG which doesn't help determining what's what in the sequence monitor.