3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2009 1:22 PM by the_wine_snob

Export to WMV files producing very poor quality

Rejfly Level 1

Hello! I am a complete novice to Premiere Pro and Encore (I have and am working in CS3).

Our video editors are both out of the office this week, and I was asked to step in and create a windows media file of a video for use in PowerPoint.

I googled how to do this, followed the steps, created the file, and included in the PowerPoint.

However, the image quality was poor and goes completely pixely in at least 3 parts of the video.

Any idea why it might be doing this....and what settings I should adjust?

Please help...this wmv file is needed tomorrow, and I have no idea how to fix!

• 1. Re: Export to WMV files producing very poor quality
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You do not provided the information needed for anyone to be able to help... try

PPro Troubleshooting http://premierepro.wikia.com/wiki/Troubleshooting

Read all the way through, and answer the questions at the end when you come back

If your source file is DV AVI Type 2 you might also download the free program from Microsoft and create your WMV with that

• 2. Re: Export to WMV files producing very poor quality
            Rejfly Level 1

As mentioned, I am a complete novice to Premiere, Encore, and actually to video editing in general.

I don't usually do this...our two video editors are both out this week...so I am doing my best to try to create this file.

I used their Premiere project file to create the WMV file.

I opened in Premiere and used Export...to Adobe Media Encoder.

Adobe Media Encoder appeared to work fine.

I used the default settings, except that I changed the frame size to 720 by 480, as the video needs to run full screen.

Hard Drive space is not an issue, as I am working with a very large external hard drive.

I'm not sure what other information you may need.