29 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2009 2:17 PM by rweaver7777

Newbie question - how to do this effect

rweaver7777

Hello, I won't pull any punches - I am an absolute newbie - as in just loaded the Flash software.

I want to create this effect, in just about every detail:

http://www.bostoncorporateportraits.com/portrait-retouching/index.php

Can anyone give me tips on how to begin, or failing that, point me at some books or previous forum topics that will help me?

Problem is, I don't even know what kind of effect to search the forum for.

Thanks in advance for any direction any of you can give.

Thanks,

Rick Weaver

• 1. Re: Newbie question - how to do this effect
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

use two different movieclips and a moveable mask to mask/reveal/hide the top-most movieclip.

• 2. Re: Newbie question - how to do this effect
            rweaver7777 Level 1

I assume a photograph is just a VERY SHORT movieclip?  This answer makes perfect sense - will go get a basic Flash book and look for how to do this sequence.

THANKS!

• 3. Re: Newbie question - how to do this effect

you're welcome.

• 4. Re: Newbie question - how to do this effect
                rweaver7777 Level 1

OK, my newbieness is showing.

I've tried for about 4 hours using some books I bought at Barnes and Noble to do this but I can't seem to get the last 5% figured out.

For testing I have a B&W version of a photo and a color version.  I've imported them and converted them to movieclip symbols on two different layers.

Then while on the top layer I insert a layer, convert it to a mask layer, then unlock it and draw a rectangle symbol over the entire image.

Here is where things don't work for me.  I can create a motion tween to move the mask, but the bottom-most layer doesn't get shown after the mask moves.

Top layer - motion tween

next layer - mask

next layer - color photo

next layer - B&W photo