12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2009 8:51 AM by the_wine_snob

Trouble Importing files to Pro CS3 and also getting default workspace

frameline

Hi guys, I'm a newbie and only using Premiere CS3 3.2.0 (with update recently installed) I'm on a Vista-based laptop, 2.5Ghz, 4mb RAM, plenty of hard drive space.

When I start a new project in Premiere CS3, in the New Project window, I go down to XDCAM EX, (shot with Sony EX 3), and highlight 1080p. Usually I get text in the description box but right now I'm not getting anything. And when I give the project a name and click OK, I get a blank workspace; no default timeline bin or file bin or monitor windows. I get nothing.

I have files on an external 250gig IOMEGA hd. Having trouble importing these files into the project. Can anyone help with any ideas of how to get started? Thanks!

UPDATE: I'm still getting a blank workspace when opening up a new project.

I have since attempted to import files from the external HD. It appears the files transferred over but I have no idea where they went. I saw the bar accept the files but cannot find the files listed anywhere in Premiere. Can someone please help?

• 1. Re: Trouble Importing files to Pro CS3 and also getting default workspace
          the_wine_snob Level 9

OK, this used to work. Is that correct? Now it does not, or appears to not work. When that happens, something has changed.

The task will be to determine what might have changed. Have you had any OS updates lately? First, these can render display drivers obsolete instantly. Though it sounds like most of your GUI is displaying fine, some updated GUI info might not be, like the Timeline and Project Panel. Check to see if you have the latest display driver.