16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2009 6:48 AM by the_wine_snob Branched from an earlier discussion.

Re: Burning to a DVD

eruanne

Hi, I also have a burning problem.  I've taken some notes as I went along.

I've been trying to burn a DVD in Premiere Elements 7.0.  I am new to this program, although experienced with other Adobe products and was really enjoying it until the disc burning process.  The first disc I burned for this project worked fine, burned beautifully, no problems.  So I was shocked when I made a few tweaks and now I can't burn a DVD for anything.
      The burning is a two-step process.  First, the menus and streams are coded.  This progresses apparently fine, the blue bar indicating progress carries on until its end.  Then the burn itself begins.  The blue progress bar gets to a point directly above the second "n" in "burning disc 1 of 1" and stops.  The longest I left it stuck there was  eight hours.
      I first burned this project as a DVD.  However, the client was unsatisfied with the arrangement of the menus and asked me to redo them.  I redid them.  According to Premiere Elements  7.0  this increased the size of the file from 1.70 GB to 1.85 GB. 
      My system has three drives.  Two are partitions on the same 160 GB hard drive, one is a plain 160 GB drive.  I have been using the two partitions (artifacts of an experiment with Linux) for this project.   The OS partition has 25 GB free.  The second partition has 68 GB free, and I have been using it as a scratch disk for this project.  The RAM available is 4 GB. 
      Other information:
      I tried defragmenting both partitions, the scratch disk was fragmented so I tried burning again after defragmenting.  No luck.  Then I tried creating a DV AVI file.  This resulted in a file of 4.67 GB.  Why is this different than the estimated size of 1.85 GB given to me by Premiere Elements 7.0?