9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2009 9:52 AM by DanJustason

Flex Development Question

DanJustason

Good day,

I'm starting up my first Flex project and I have a question.

First off, a little info. I'm a Computer Programming Technology student that just finished the first year. I've picked up C++, VB.Net, HTML, SQL, PL/SQL and a few other OOAD courses, so I know a bit, but still have a lot to learn.

The project I'm working on is a small Baseball game. I have a MySQL database created with 2 teams and attributes for the players for which I'm going to be running computations for the inning to inning play.

My first question is the proper order in which to develope my Flex page. I'm not sure if I should develope the page itself, load the players and attributes into text fields, and then use Actionscript with the textfields, or if I should be loading the data into array collections to do my computations. I'm thinking the array collections, but just haven't had enough experience yet to know for sure.

So basically...what's thr first step? The website, or the script?

Thanks for any suggestions you might have,

Daniel Justason

• 1. Re: Flex Development Question
          meshgraphics Level 2

If you don't have a good grasp of OO reusability, be prepared to rip it up and start over again... repeat as necessary.

Organisation is the name of the game.

• 2. Re: Flex Development Question
            DanJustason Level 1

Well, let's say you're creating your first C++ program and you choose, say, "Hello World". How concerned are you with OO reusability?

I'm just picking up Flex and have a small program idea to play around with to get used to Actionscript and MXML. I've got a good grasp on OOAD and OOP, I'm just not sure how that matter at the moment.

Anyone else?

• 3. Re: Flex Development Question
              meshgraphics Level 2

Man Oh Man!  What is wrong with the Feminist Daycare Generation?  Every little thing is a threat to their egomania.