12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2009 7:42 AM by the_wine_snob

Transitions & efffects in timeline

Mark Wynn

I'm new to Prem Pro CS4 but getting on well. I am experiencing a problem when trying to drag/drop any effect or transition on to clips in the timeline. More often than not it just wont drag there many attempts then suddenly it will. I have no problem in dragging any affect into the Effects Control panel but naturally not transitions.

Additional problem is that having got a transition between a couple of clips when played it occasionally doesn't show at all. It's just as though it's not there. Any suggestions please. Mark.

• 1. Re: Transitions & efffects in timeline
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Any suggestions please.

Some suggestions

• 2. Re: Transitions & efffects in timeline
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Mark,

Welcome to the forum.

Without more details, I can only guess, but it sounds like you need to Target your Video (or Audio for Audio Transitions) Track. If you can drag from the Effects Panel, you should be able to do the same to the Timeline. Make sure that you have Targeted your Video Track, or you will get the behavior that you describe, 'cause PrPro doesn't know where you want to place the Effect, or Transition.

As for them disappearing, we'll have to get more details, and maybe a screen-cap of your Timeline, to help there.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Transitions & efffects in timeline
              Mark Wynn Level 1

Thanks for the reply, I will follow up and come back if I can give you further gen. Mark

• 4. Re: Transitions & efffects in timeline
                Powered by Design Level 4

make sure to expand your timeline so you can see more.

if your to far from the ends a transition wont grab.

you cant drop a transition in the middle.

Enjoy:  Glenn

• 5. Re: Transitions & efffects in timeline
                  Harm Millaard Level 7