15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2009 3:58 PM by the_wine_snob

JPG background for greenscreen video

C3Cole

I am trying to put a .jpg pic behind a dv video, as the background. I can find nothing in the help section about layers or importing a background. Any advice?

I am a complete noob, sorry, but thanks for the help anyone can provide.

Cole

• 1. Re: JPG background for greenscreen video
          the_wine_snob Level 9

First, I'd size your JPEG to just over the dimensions of your Project's Frame Size, along the lines of 1000x750 for a DV 720x480 Project. Bigger will not be better.

Next, Import/Get Media Files and Folders to Import that image into your Project. Place it on Video Track 1, and grab and drag the Tail of it to the Duration that you need.

Place your Green Screen Footage on Video Track 2 and if you have not already done the Keying in another program, add the Keying to it. You will see Video Track 1 around your Keyed image on Video Track 2.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: JPG background for greenscreen video
            the_wine_snob Level 9
            I can find nothing in the help section about layers or importing a background.

Since you used the terms Layers and Background, I assume that you use PS, or PSE, for image editing. Think of Video Track 1 as the bottom Layer in the Layers Palette. It's kind of like the Background Layer, but has differences from that particular Layer type in PS. Still, it IS a background Layer (notice lack of italics and capitalization). Video Track 2, is like the next Layer above that, and then Video Track 3 like the next above that.