21 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2009 11:41 AM by Printer_Rick

Please check this workflow...

TᴀW Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hello,

Here I am, sticking my head in the lions' den...

Anyway, I'm a graphic designer who usually does b/w books, text only. The closest I come to colour is greyscale!

So now I've got a client who has a set of colourful children's books she wants printed.

She is doing the drawings herself on the computer with a piece of free graphics software and an old LCD monitor. Uncalibrated, unprofiled.

She has done most of the drawings already before I came onto the scene. But she is particular that she wants the printed colours to look like what she's got on screen.

I explained that CMYK cannot reproduce the flourescents she's seeing on her screen. She's okay with that, but she does want the same "hue".

So...

I borrowed a copy of Real World Color Management 2nd ed. I'm reading through it, but boy is it confusing.

I also borrowed a MonacoOPTIXxr thingy, and have calibrated and profiled my monitor (a Dell 2407WFP).

As far as I can make out, what I need to do is:

(1) Go over to the client and profile her monitor. With the software she's using she can't attach profiles to the TIFFs she's making. So when I receive the files, I'll attach her profile to them for her.

(2) Then, at my end, I'll convert the images to CMYK. She'll come over here, and we'll play with the colours until she's happy with the results.

(3) Should my working profile be some generic CMYK?

(4) Once we decide where we're printing, I'll ask the press for their profile, and convert from my working space to their profile, and save the images without any profile at all.

Does that make any sense? Any comments will be appreciated. But please keep them simple if possible.

Thank you,

Ariel

• 1. Re: Please check this workflow...
          Rick McCleary Level 3

Hi Ariel -

Not a lion's den. Really!

Here we go: