7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2009 1:30 AM by Richard_Abbott

Using MXML/ActionScript to render UI runtime in ASP.NET

pushkar.ak

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Flex Developement. I want to explore possibility of using Flex in ASP.NET

My requirement is to render UI using runtime generated MXML/ActionScript (depending upon metadata of controls/pages etc.)

My qquestion is can we use MXML/ActionScript directly to render Flash/Flex based UI?

Or is it necessary to compile them into SWF/FLA file and include them on ASP.NET webpage?

My second question is: can we post back the controls/UI to ASP.NET page similar to HTML forms?

If yes then, how can we access the control values in ASP.NET code behind at server side?

Any help on this is deeply appreciable.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Using MXML/ActionScript to render UI runtime in ASP.NET
          *Prashant Shelke* Level 4

Q1 Answer:

Its not necessary always to load flex app as SWF in web-page, you can use it as UI part difference will be all pages designed in Flex will load on client-side once not as traditional web-page one-by-one as per request. You can take help of states & transitions to show user different pages.

Q2 Answer:

You can send back user modified data back to server using Remote objects/ HttpService. In this case Flex will work as View part from MVC.

referr:

http://www.codeproject.com/KB/aspnet/FlexHttpServiceAndASP_Net.aspx

http://learn.adobe.com/wiki/display/Flex/Flex+and+ASP.NET

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Using MXML/ActionScript to render UI runtime in ASP.NET
            pushkar.ak Level 1

Thanks Prashant.

But my question still remains. How can I embed Flex/Flash UI on ASP.NET page at runtime?

For example, I want to add a button on the page at runtime in ASP.NET, I can easily do that using VB.NET/C# code.

How can I do the same with Flex. Because in the tutorials and examples it is said that we need to compile the MXML/ActionScript