6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2009 8:49 AM by Pilcrow

CS4 Filters gone

Pilcrow

I work as a tactile graphic artist, managing a corps of artists who transcribe graphics in college-level textbooks into embossed graphics that can be read by vision-impaired students. Our graphics need to be replicas of the originals, so we can’t “fudge” them. My problem is, specifically, creating sine waves. It was a real breeze, using the zig-zag filter—until we upgraded to CS4. Yes, it’s there as a live effect, but it’s not editable. If the sine wave needs to begin at a specific spot two-thirds the way up the rise and cut off at three-eighths on the down-slope 4 waves later, you just can’t do that with the zig-zag effect. That is, unless someone can tell me how to do it.

We used to use the same filter for showing a resistor, but now we just use the alignment feature.

Any suggestions, other than just doing the obvious Bezier drawing?

• 1. Re: CS4 Filters gone
          Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

Object>Expand Appearance then the scissor tool.

I know his is not a sine but it shows how simple it is. I would save a copy of the original with the effect unexpanded. That way if you have to change it a little bit it will not to be too inconvenient.

Picture 2.png

• 2. Re: CS4 Filters gone
            Pilcrow Level 1

Oho! The "Expand Appearance" is the answer! It's as simple as that. Of course, it's always simple if you know the answer. I don't think I've ever dealt with Expand Appearance before. And I've been using AI since it was owned by Aldus and before it even had a number...just Illustrator (something like 1987 because the next version was Illustrator 88).

I swear, I'm forever finding out new things with this wonderful program. Thanks so much for your quick response Wade. It totally answers my problem.

Jim

• 3. Re: CS4 Filters gone
              [scott] Level 6

FYI.. the Filters menu isn't "gone." Its merely changed.