10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2009 6:26 PM by Dmitri Rodriguez

RAM previewing issue

Dmitri Rodriguez

Hi,

I'm working in After Effects CS4, and I'm having a problem when I try to RAM preview short sections of an animation project. The RAM preview keeps stopping before it reaches the end of the work area, and beginning again. I'm pretty new to the program, but I've also noticed the little green bars that, I believe, tell you if the section has rendered/processed always have little gaps in them. That may be related. I don't know.

Does anyone know what may be causing this RAM previewing issue?

On a side note, I'm using After Effects on a Macbook (not a Macbook Pro), and I'm wondering whether this problem may be due to the Macbook not being sufficient for After Effects and CS4 in general. (I had originally intended to install the program on my 2004-era G5 tower, but it wouldn't install After Effects CS4 because apparently the program won't work with PowerPC processors, only Intel ones. At least that's what I was told.) Anyway, I've wondered whether the RAM previewing issue may be due to the Macbook not being enough computer for After Effects/CS4. My Macbook has a 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 and 106 GB of available space.

Any insights on the RAM previewing issue and whether my Macbook isn't a suitable computer for these programs would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot,

Neil

• 1. Re: RAM previewing issue
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Please do a search on this forum (or others for that matter). Short version: RAM previews will only play what fits into RAM, hnece you will almost never be able to preview an entire comp at once, not even on systems with much more memory than yours. for the rest see this FAQ: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/424030?tstart=0

Mylenium

• 2. Re: RAM previewing issue
            Todd_Kopriva Level 8

"FAQ: Why does RAM preview only play part of my composition?"