1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 4, 2009 8:29 AM by 2bEugene

Problem: Receive java.util.hashmap from Apache Axis2 webService

2bEugene

Hi there,

I'm new to this forum. I'm a software dev and working with Flex for a few months now.

Until now I was doing well in acquiring Know-How and so on.

But know I got stuck with a, in fact not that big issue. But I was Googling a lot and searching for solutions without success.

We have built up an Apache Axis2 web service. At the backend we are loading data from a MySQL database and packing them into HashMaps (java.util.hashmap) to transfer them via SOAP to subscribers.

For now I also want to built up a flex client, subscribing this service. I also used the Introspection Wizard (Main Menu -> Data -> "Import Web Service (WSDL)") which generated event classes, valueObject classes, the WebService and BaseWebService classes and a MapItem class (for the latter I assume the generated code should use it for a single item in the HashMap).

Everything's cool, but here also the Problems come:

After a successful response the result variables contained in my WebService instance simply remain NULL instead of pointing at the result set.

I tried to step through the code too, and indeed, before Flex tries to encode the result I can see the raw data in a result var. So the data transfer itself works and obviously it all is about the understanding of the data type on Flex side.

In one case it also happens that I get this exception:

TypeError: Cannot unmarshall type 'http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema::Map' from XML.
          at mx.rpc.xml::SchemaMarshaller/unmarshall()[C:\autobuild\3.3.0\frameworks\projects\rpc\src\ mx\rpc\xml\SchemaMarshaller.as:135]
          at mx.rpc.xml::SchemaManager/unmarshall()[C:\autobuild\3.3.0\frameworks\projects\rpc\src\mx\ rpc\xml\SchemaManager.as:441]
          at mx.rpc.xml::XMLDecoder/marshallBuiltInType()[C:\autobuild\3.3.0\frameworks\projects\rpc\s rc\mx\rpc\xml\XMLDecoder.as:1779]