7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2009 1:55 PM by fenosc

Customclass accessing children

fenosc Level 1

Hi there,
      I made a search looking for custom class problems but didn`t find anything about what I`m having trouble with. Witch I thought to be pretty weird. I think I may be doing something stupid.

I have a customScrollBar_mc in my library which consists of 2 movieclips instanced as mcBar and mcBackGround.

I exported customScrollBar_mc for actionscript with a custom class attached to it called CustomScrollBar and I UNchecked the export in frame 1 option (I left only the preloader things with that checked).

Well, I made my CustomScrollBar class but the problem is. If I try something like this in its constructor
      mcBar.height = 10; or
      mcBackGround.width = 10;

Flash tells me that those instances doesn`t exist.
      How can I make flash recognize them ?

Here is some structure information:

Project organization

/Project
         /bin
         /src
           Main.as
           /sessions
             CustomScrollBar.as
             Session.as this class instances CustomScrollBar

Export SWC is checked.
      Sourcepaths added are /src and /src/sessions
      Automatically declare stage instances is UNchecked.
      All my files have no PACKAGE especification (if I add "sessions" to the package name it tells me that it doesn`t especify the real location of the files. Don`t know why this happends.)

Could anyone please help me with this ?
      Thanks in advance,
      Oscar

• 1. Re: Customclass accessing children
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

recheck export in frame 1 to test.  make sure both child movieclips exist in frame 1.

• 2. Re: Customclass accessing children
            fenosc Level 1

Hi kglad!

Didn`t work.

One thing though, you told be to be sure that they are on frame 1.