8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2009 12:37 PM by ukspuzzva

Stop the timeline!

ukspuzzva

Ok, this is probably the most basic question of the day, but I'm new to this...my little movie project is done and it plays back just fine. However, when the red vertical line that runs across the timeline gets to the end of the last clip, it keeps on rolling. How do I (can I?) stop the red line at the end of the movie? This last litle detail is driving me nuts! Thx.

• 1. Re: Stop the timeline!
          the_wine_snob Level 9

My Timeline playback stops at the end of the final Clip. Now, in Edit>Preferences>General, there are two places to set the behavior of the CTI. One is with regards to Scrolling, and you can adjust these from a drop-down. The other is the Play Timeline After Rendering, which is a check box.

Neither should affect what you describe.

Only time that this happens to me is if I'm trying to stop playblack near the end, and double-hit the Spacebar. In my case, that's just OE. With your hands off the keyboard, move the CTI to just before the end of the last Clip. Hit Spacebar, and take the hands away. Does it still cycle?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Stop the timeline!
            ukspuzzva Level 1

Hey,

Thanks for your input.

I tried the three options in the Scrolling drop-down box (Preferences>General), but none of them stopped the scrolling at the end of the clip.

When I hit the space bar right at the end of the movie, it stops the scroll, but I want the scroll to stop automatically at the end of the credits.

Any other ideas?

- P.

• 3. Re: Stop the timeline!
              the_wine_snob Level 9

The comment about the Spacebar was only to point out my OE, as I'd double-hit it when I'd actually passed my point and it had gotten to the end already. This resets to Home and starts all over again, like you describe. In my case, it was only the OE that caused the problem, as left alone, playback will always stop on the last frame (End) of my Timeline.