10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2009 2:55 PM by the_wine_snob

Trimming audio in trim window

RedHouseRon

Hi. First time asking question but refer to forums a lot.

Is there a way to hear audio when scrubbing/jogging in trim window? Many times my edit point is audio driven, not video driven, e.g., interviews, pick up points in narration etc. I have been using PPro for 3-4 years and have yet to see how to do this. Trimming with Avid is very simple and I'd like to be able to trim as easily in PPro. I'm using CS4, Windows XP SP3, dual Opteron CPUs, 4GB  ram, RAID0 media disk.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Trimming audio in trim window
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Unless it's changed, go to Edit>Preferences>Audio and check "Play Audio While Scrubbing." Works fine in the Source Monitor for me.

Good luck,

Hunt

PS welcome to the forum.

• 2. Re: Trimming audio in trim window
            RedHouseRon Level 1

Thanks for the hint, although I already knew that preference setting. I

guess I wasn't clear that I meant the trim tool window, not the source

monitor.

RedHouseRon

• 3. Re: Trimming audio in trim window
              Jim_Simon Level 8

I haven't tried it in CS4 yet, but audio in the trim window has always worked fine for me in previous versions.

• 4. Re: Trimming audio in trim window
                the_wine_snob Level 9

Ron,

I meant the trim tool window, not the source monitor.

I'm sorry, but you have lost me on that one. Most folk use the Source Monitor (not the Program Monitor) to set their In & Out Points, i.e. Trim the Clip. Can you be a bit more specific on exactly where you're working? I'm just not familiar with the "trim tool window."

Good luck,

Hunt

[Edit] Never mind. I understand where you are, and what you want. Sorry for my confusion. I'm not sure that you can get Audio there.

Message was edited by: the_wine_snob added [Edit]

• 5. Re: Trimming audio in trim window
                  Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP