1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 24, 2009 1:53 PM by Flex harUI

Question Regarding Component Inheritance and Visibility

mirie00 Level 1

I am a Flex noob, so it is possible I am using incorrect verbiage...here is my problem...

I have a GenericForm.mxml custom component, which is pretty much an empty HBox and it has a session property.
      Then I have several specific forms (components) that extend my GenericForm, i.e., HotelForm.mxml, MealForm.mxml, etc.

Each specific form starts out with
      <controls:GenericForm...

And each specific form has an actual <mx:Form... etc. in it.

Now, I have a higher level WindowHome.mxml in which i am trying to instantiate the specific form and then show/hide
      it, the hotel form in this case.

In my WindowHome actionscript, i have the following snippet:

var specificForm:GenericForm = null;
                  if (session.currItem.itemtype == "H")
                      specificForm = new HotelForm();
                  specificForm.session = _session;
                  specificForm.init();
                  box.formContainer.form = specificForm;
                  box.formContainer.form.visible = true;

The problem is that the no form is becoming visible in box.formContainer with the snippet above.

box.formContainer looks something like this...

<mx:HBox>

<controls:ReportList id="reportList" session="{session}" visible="false"/>
          <controls:GenericForm id="form" session="{session}" visible="false"/>
      </mx:HBox>

For testing purposes, in my GenericForm, I added.

<mx:Text text="HELLO CAN YOU SEE THIS"/>

When I remove the following line from the snippet above:

box.formContainer.form = specificForm;

the code works in so much as the generic form becomes visible and i can see "HELLO CAN YOU SEE THIS".
      But when i set the box.formContainer.form equal to specificForm, nothing is made visible.

I must be missing something pretty basic here.  Can you help me understand why this doesn't work?

Thanks very much.