13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2009 10:55 AM by Jim_Simon

Best quality settings for AME?

Shao Lung Level 1

I am new to CS4 and the workflow changes.....but I do have a question regarding AME. In your best experience, what are the best settings for exporting AVI files to use again Premiere? I used to set my export aettings to no recompression, AVI as the codec. However, it seems that is not an option in AME. I am looking for best PERCEPTIBLE quality, NTSC, standard DV for now.....HD later.I see AME has options for "maximum quality"(what does that mean SPECIFICALLY)and 24 bit depth, but are any of those PERCEPTIBLE?

Thoughts? Thansk!

• 1. Re: Best quality settings for AME?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

As long as you need to edit your timeline again, don't export. Each export will deteriorate due to generation loss unless you use uncompressed or use a visually lossless codec like Lagarith. However both methods will significantly increase file size on your disks. It is better to only export a finished project to the final destination format once. Until that time just keep the original footage and project as they are.

• 2. Re: Best quality settings for AME?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

I agree with Harm.

If this is a one-time Export, using MS DV-AVI Type II should yield very good results. There is compression, and it can be measured. Whether it can be "seen" is another issue. Still, for the ultimate, AVI [Uncompressed], or Lagarith would be lossless, though with those "larger files," that Harm mentions.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Best quality settings for AME?
              Shao Lung Level 1