9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 30, 2009 7:25 AM by Fienduk

SD footage looks Bad in timeline and on Export

Fienduk Level 1

Hi there

Let me start by saying that this Forum is amazing, I read through pages of stuff looking for something kind of similar to my question but come accross tons of really useful stuff that I just can't help myself from reading. You guys truly are a mind of knowledge, some of which I haven't a clue about to start with, but I am learning...

Anyway, on to my query.

I work in Prem Pro CS4 and also use Encore and AME.

All my updates are up to date and I work on a struggling system (dual core. P4. 32 bit Vista Home, 4GB mem, ATI video card (512mb) Its a couple of years old, but handle SD footage ok.

I often get asked to shoot Weddings, Bands & Events (I'm no professional, just a keen ameteur). I shoot this footage mainly in SD (PAL) using a Sony HDRFX1 & and HDR-SR12e.

Okay, so i know there is a difference in Picture clarity at source. the FX1 out performs the SR12 easily, and so this is used for the odd cut away and not the main event.

When I import my footage into PP, all looks OK with the FX1 footage, but the SDR footage is really blurred (out of focus) and washed out. Though playing it back through the Camera or hooked up to a TV, it doesn't look half bad.

So, what am I doing wrong? Why is PP making this footage look horrible and even making the FX1 footage look rather un loveable.

This is the case in Both the Preview window (Highest Quality) and when I export to file or DVD.

I have exported to Verbatim discs (This has made a slight difference) using Encore (using both Dynamic link and exporting as an AVI).

I don't touch transcoding setting, I let Encore sort that out.