13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2008 4:55 PM by Newsgroup_User

Content Management Systems-WordPress

amckinsey1
      Greetings,

I'm getting the idea that lots of you recommend WordPress as a CMS for sites built in Dreamweaver. Here are a few questions that I'd be most grateful for answers to:

* WordPress seems very user-friendly (and it's free!) but can it be used as a CMS for sites that are not blog sites? I see nothing on their site about usage as a CMS--is there special stuff I need to know to do this?

* Can I open a web page in Dreamweaver that someone has edited using CMS without losing their edits?

* I am a newbie to Dw and need a simple, easy-to-install CMS for people to use who I am building sites for--any other recommendations?

Any help you can give me is very much appreciated! Thanks!

Anne

• 1. Re: Content Management Systems-WordPress
          David Borrink Level 1
          I've used WordPress for a few years and it's a pretty good CMS. I've done my wife's blog (three redesigns and name changes) and I've done some commercial sites using WP where I'm able to set up "pages" (the non-blog type of static pages that are used for "who I am" or whatever static topic a blogger wants) as the main pages and push the blog to the side or not use it. It's very possible, you can choose any page to be the main page and move the blog over.

The CMS is set up in a MySQL database, and WP just grabs whatever info it needs from the database and runs it through the style sheets to set up for display.

I'm not an expert in Dreamweaver (yet) but the WP setup is dependent upon WP's files to render the pages. I would think that you'd need to find a PHP setup that coordinates with Dreamweaver at the start, and not try to bring WordPress into Dreamweaver. I know... the free price tag of WP makes it an attractive idea, but I suspect it won't work. And I'll gladly be told I'm wrong, but that's what I see in your request.

David