3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2009 11:59 AM by the_wine_snob

How can I turn captured video into a DVD

familyhonors

I am a premiere newbie. Can anyone tell me the basic steps to take captured video (already can do..) and turn it into a DVD which can be read on a regular TV-DVD player.? Even a few basic starter steps to send me down the right road would be helpful and VERY appreciated. I can capture to Premiere (Pro CS4), but then what? Thank you!!

• 1. Re: How can I turn captured video into a DVD
          the_wine_snob Level 9

OK, you've got your material Captured from your camera. It should appear in your Project Panel. At this point, your Timeline will be empty. This is where the editing comes in. I'll keep it simple, as there are a couple of ways to do this.

1.) from the Project Panel, drag each Video Clip to the Timeline's Video Track 1. The accompanying Audio wll come in with it, and should go to Audio Track 1, below that little "beltline," that separates your Video (above) and Audio (below).

2.) you can alter the Duration of your Clip by click-dragging on the Head, to shorten it there, or from the Tail, to shorten it there. If you have material that you wish to remove from anywhere but the Head or Tail, look in the Toolbox, usually to the lower-right, but it can be moved. There is a Razor icon. Place the CTI (Current Time Indicator - that little triangle with a red line, that moves when you hit the Spacebar) where you wish to Cut with the Razor. Click with the Razor selected and both Video and Audio will be sliced. Move to where you wish this extra footage to end, and do the same thing. Rt-click on this new "Clip" and Choose Ripple Delete. This will remove that segment and close up the other parts of the Clip. Repeat for all of the rest of your media Assets.

3.) add any Transitions, music, etc.