7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2009 8:33 AM by danwize

Loading and Manipulating external swfs

danwize

I'm new to the Flex development environment.  In the past, when we develped a large application in Flash, we would load swfs and pass relevant data to them.  I've created a flex application and would like to load its compiled swf from another flex project.  I can do this and the swf plays, but how can I get access to the loaded swf's properties and methods?

I have been loading flash assets by converting them to flex custom components using Flex Component Kit, but I don't want to have to put all of my flash content in components and add them to one large project becuase this would make for a huge swf if all those swcs are included at compile time.  Is there a way to load a swf and access its attributes?  Or do I have to rework the way I build a large application that consisted of many swf files in the past?

• 1. Re: Loading and Manipulating external swfs
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6

This is a great LiveDocs page, and will answer your question:

http://livedocs.adobe.com/flex/3/html/help.html?content=controls_15.html

If this post answered your question or helped, please mark it as such.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Loading and Manipulating external swfs
            danwize Level 1

That page was very helpful!  Thanks.  I'm still missing one piece though.  They showed how to acces properties of a swf, but not methods.

Example:
            loadedSM.application["lblOne"].text = "I was just updated.";

But, how can I call a function in a loaded swf and pass arguments to it?

example:
            loadedSM.application["myFunc"];  //can I call a function this way?  
            Where do I put the args? Any help would be awesome!
            • 3. Re: Loading and Manipulating external swfs
              danwize Level 1

After looking a little closer I see the answer to my question.

FlexApp(loadedSM.application).setVarOne("Updated varOne!");