7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2009 10:37 AM by kglad

Prepend "loading..." module?

MurrayComputing

Hello to All -

Helping a friend who has a flash SWF file to embed in his website. I have done that, but the file is approx 40MB, and it takes a while to load. It does not have any "loading..." message or animation, and I'm not a Flash programmer - is there a way to prepend a "loading..." animation of some kind? Can I put up a stand-alone image that displays only until the Flash movie starts playing, without Flash programming?

Thanks for your help and your time,

John

• 1. Re: Prepend "loading..." module?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you'll need to use some code to display a preloader (or static image) until loading is complete and you're ready to display the full swf.

• 2. Re: Prepend "loading..." module?
            MurrayComputing Level 1

Okay Kglad, thanks. I'll have to try something else, maybe I can use a separate background photo. Not going to tear down this flash file and rebuild it.

Thanks again,

John

• 3. Re: Prepend "loading..." module?

the easiest thing to do is to create a separate preloader containing fla that loads your 40mb swf.

• 4. Re: Prepend "loading..." module?
                MurrayComputing Level 1

kglad, I understand the concept of what you describe, but have no clue as to how to get it done. You have been very helpful, are there examples somewhere of how to do this? Will I need to purchase Flash as well?

Thanks again,

John

• 5. Re: Prepend "loading..." module?

you'll need to purchase flash or have someone else create a preloader for you.  there's not necessarily much to a preloader, though:

var ldr:Loader=new Loader();
                  var urlR:URLRequest=new URLRequest("your40mbswf.swf");

var tf:TextField=new TextField();
                  addChild(tf);
                  tf.text="0% Loaded";
                  tf.autoSize="left";
                  tf.x=(stage.stageWidth-tf.width)/2;