8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2009 1:02 PM by the_wine_snob

Help! Moved a project from laptop to desktop files are missing

sabinefroni

hi,

sorry I am a premiere elements 7 newbie.

I started my project on my laptop but unfortunately it hadn´t enough space and was not aible to work with the data flow. i bought a desktop and made the mistake that I only copied the "premiere elements project" the document..........

then I organised the new pc and so on...opened the project but all my files (audio, pictures and videos) were missing.

can someone help me what to do? I don´t want to do it again...........

please note that I saved the documents (songs, pictures and avi) from different places on the laptop.

thank you so much

sabine from germany

• 1. Re: Help! Moved a project from laptop to desktop files are missing
          Kodebuster Level 3

Assuming you still have the original Assets (audio, pictures and videos files) on the Laptop, just create a Folder on your new System, and copy these files to that Folder.

When you Open the Project, a Dialog Box will appear stating that a specific file is missing, just navigate to the Folder, select the file. and PE will then re-link all of your Assets.

(You should only have to do this once)...

• 2. Re: Help! Moved a project from laptop to desktop files are missing
            sabinefroni Level 1

hey great.

just to be on the safe side:

the beginning is clear. i put all the used files - everything - in the folder. than transfer this folder to the desktop, answer the box (it says "where is your file") and then I choose ONLY 1 file? means one movie or one picture? thats enough and correctly understood??

hopefully!!!!!!! I will try it immediately

thanks in advance

• 3. Re: Help! Moved a project from laptop to desktop files are missing
              Kodebuster Level 3

Yes move the files to your desktop, keeping all file names the same,